Frequently asked questions

What is an Ubuntu One account?

Ubuntu One is now the single account you use to log in to all services and sites related to Ubuntu. Your Ubuntu One account is an email address and a password that you use to sign in to Ubuntu services.

The Ubuntu One File Service and Music Store were shut down on 31 July 2014, see our original announcement or follow up posts for more details.

How can I update my Ubuntu One email address?

  1. Log in at login.ubuntu.com.
  2. Open login.ubuntu.com/+emails.
  3. Under "Add email address", enter your email address and click "Add address".
  4. Check your email inbox for a message to confirm your new email address.
  5. Once confirmed, select the new email address from the “Preferred email address” drop down menu in the ‘Personal details’ section.

I never received my Ubuntu One verification code. Now what?

To work around this use the Forgot password process.

Once you complete that process, open login.ubuntu.com and log in, clicking on the "I am a returning user" option.

How do I recover or change my Ubuntu One password?

If you've forgotten your password, go to login.ubuntu.com and select the "Forgot your password?" link. This will take you through a process of recovering your password.

If you need to change your password, login to login.ubuntu.com, type your new password twice, and click the "Update" button.

Please take to account that in order to reset your password you must have access to the email address you provided. If you ever lose access to this account (email provider shuts down, hijacked accounts, etc) you won't be able to recover your password once you've lost it. That's why we strongly suggest that you provide more than one email address in your account.

Can I delete my Ubuntu One account?

You can delete your Ubuntu One account, however, there are some very important things you should know before doing that.

Your Ubuntu One account is tied to a lot of information and provides access to a variety of sites. You should understand that by deleting your Ubuntu One account, you will lose access to all those sites. Therefore, you should take care of all those accounts first, because you won't be able to reach them after.

To see which sites you will lose access to and should delete first, log in at login.ubuntu.com . It should show a list of other sites you have recently logged into via your Ubuntu One account.

N.B. If you delete your Ubuntu One account, other attached accounts will become orphaned and you will lose access to all of those sites too.

Launchpad

You can deactivate an account, but it won't be entirely deleted.

If you don't want your data there any more, we recommend that you anonymize your account before deactivating it. This can be done by changing your display name and username, removing pictures and crypto keys, etc.

To deactivate your LP account, do the following:

  1. Go to your profile page.
  2. Click "Change details" in the upper right.
  3. Scroll all the way to the bottom.
  4. Click "Deactivate your account."
  5. If you want, type in a reason for deactivating your account.
  6. Click "Deactivate Account".
  7. You can also go directly to the page by typing in this address: https://launchpad.net/~YOURUSERNAME/+deactivate-account (replace YOURUSERNAME in the URL with the name of your account)

Other Related Accounts

For other services attached to your Ubuntu One account (such as Landscape, Ubuntu wiki sites, Ubuntu Forums and AskUbuntu), please go to those services individually to close those accounts, if possible. The Ubuntu One team cannot close those accounts for you, but many of them have self-service options.

Ubuntu One Account

The last step is to delete your Ubuntu One account.

To do this, go to login.ubuntu.com/+delete and follow the instructions there.

After deleting your account all the email addresses associated will be unlinked from it, allowing you to use any of them to open a new account should you chose to do so.

I have a problem with Ubuntu One, where can I get help?

You can email any further support requests to isd-support@canonical.com

I have questions about Two Factor Authentication (2FA) in my Ubuntu One account, where can I find more information?

We have a Two Factor Authentication specific FAQ at help.ubuntu.com/community/SSO/FAQs/2FA

I have two accounts. How can I merge them?

In general, merging two accounts means deleting one account and optionally copying some of its metadata to the other account. However, merged accounts can experience significant issues, so the Ubuntu One team strongly recommends deleting extra accounts if possible instead of merging them. This is especially relevant for merged Launchpad accounts.

Launchpad

You can merge accounts yourself, though the function for it may not be easy to find.

First, log in to the account you want to keep. Then go to: launchpad.net/people/+requestmerge

Follow the instructions on screen, and you should be able to merge your accounts.

Please note that merging your Launchpad accounts is very likely to break your access to Summit, AskUbuntu, any apps you have purchased in Software Center, and any third-party sites which use your Launchpad username as your login.

Ubuntu One

SSO account merges are just a matter of deleting one account then adding its email address(es) to the other account. We recommend that you do this by deleting the account you don’t need and then adding the old address(es) to the new account afterward.

Otherwise, SSO accounts must be merged manually by the support team, and it can take a while since we need to verify you own both accounts first.

Note that you will lose access to every site attached to one of the accounts, so choose carefully which account you would like to keep.

  1. Choosing a primary account: To see which sites are attached to each account, log in to your SSO accounts one at a time at login.ubuntu.com . It should show a list of other sites you have recently logged into via that account. This list represents the sites that you will lose access to, on whichever account you merge from. The account you merge to will remain intact, though.
  2. Merging other accounts: Before merging your SSO accounts, you should take care of any openID consumer sites or services you may have accounts on. For example, if you have two Launchpad accounts, you should manually merge those first. Then you should be ready to merge your SSO accounts.
  3. Sending a request: If for some reason you can’t do the merge yourself, send an email to isd-support@canonical.com. Please make sure to specify the email addresses of both accounts in your message, along with acknowledgement that you don't mind losing access to everything attached to the non-primary account. Be clear about which account you want to keep, since you will lose access to the sites associated with the other account(s).

Please send the email preferably from the email address you check the most often.

After sending a message, you should get an automated reply. Please respond to this automated reply using the email address of your other SSO account, to confirm you have access to both addresses.